Till now, the User role allowed people to only edit the projects and tasks they created or the ones they are assigned to. They were not able to close a task not assigned to them, or self-assign themselves to tasks. The only option was to add them to the task team or make them Administrators.
To address that, we just added a new flag to the Users profile — “Can also edit projects/tasks not assigned to”. Users with this flag turned on (it is off by default) will be able to edit projects and tasks not assigned to them.